Ondo Election Tribunal receives nine petitions


Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Ondo on Thursday said it had received nine petitions following the February 25 National Assembly elections in the state.

Secretary of the tribunal, Mr Musa Adam, told the News Agency of Nigeria that seven of the petitions were on the House of Representatives election and two on the Senate.

Adam said that Olusegun Phillips-Alonge, the candidate of New Nigeria Peoples Party in Ondo North Senatorial district, had filed a petition challenging the All Progressives Congress Olajide Ipinsigba’s election.

On the part of the Labour Party candidate for Ondo Central, Mr Morounfoluwa Bademosi, Adam said a petition had been filed against the election of Mr Adeniyi Adegbonmire of the APC.

Other petitions he announced include those challenging the elections in Akoko South East/Akoko South west, Ese Odo/Ilaje, Okitipupa/Irele and Ondo East/Ondo West federal constituencies.

Adam said other federal constituencies include, Akure South/Akure North, Akoko South East/Akoko South West and Akoko North East/Akoko North West.

According to him, the tribunal was already expecting petitions on the outcome of the House of Assembly election.

He noted that aggrieved candidates had 21 days from the announcement of election results to file a petition before the tribunal.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *