Five females make Kwara Assembly

Share Love with Stories

Five women have been elected into the Kwara State House of Assembly and will partake in the 10th Legislative session of the Assembly which will be inaugurated in June this year.

The women, who got elected on Saturday, are Rukayat Shittu for Owode/Onire Constituency; Arinola Lawal for Ilorin East State Constituency; Medinat AbdulRaheem for Lanwa/ Ejidongari Constituency; Aishat Babatunde-Alanamu for Ilorin North-West Constituency and Mariam Aladi for Ilorin South Constituency.

In the current Assembly, all the 24 seats are being occupied by male lawmakers.

Meanwhile, the ruling All  Progressives Congress won 23 out of the 24 seats, while the opposition, the Peoples Democratic Party secured one  seat.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]

Share Love with Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *