Burna Boy makes Obama’s playlist third time, Ayra Starr twice

A former President of the United States of America, Barack Obama, in what has become his tradition, has released his summer playlist for 2023, and self-acclaimed African Giant and Grammy Award-winner, Dami Ogulu, aka Burna Boy, made the list for the third time. Mavin Records-signee, Oyinkansola Aderibigbe, aka Ayra Starr, was also featured for the second time.

Taking to his Twitter page on Thursday, July 20, 2023, Obama announced that 41 songs made the cut, including that of two Nigerians— ‘Sittin’ on top of the World’ by Burna Boy, featuring British singer, 21 Savage; and ‘Sability’ by Oyinkansola Aderibigbe, aka Ayra Starr.

Obama tweeted, “Like I do every year, here are some songs I’ve been listening to this summer – a mix of old and new. Looking forward to hearing what I have missed.”

Reacting to Obama’s tweet, Ayra Starr wrote, “’Rush’ last year, ‘Sability’, this year! They will fall in line one by one.”

Recall that in 2022, ‘Last Last’ by Burna Boy, Rema’s ‘Calm Down’, ‘Rush’ by Ayra Starr; and ‘Finesse’ by Pheelz, featuring BNXN, made it to the summer playlist of the 44th president of the USA.

Also, in 2021, Wizkid and Tems’ ‘Essence’ made the list; ‘Know Your Worth’ by Khalid and Disclosure, featuring Davido and Tems, made the list in 2020; Wizkid’s ‘Smile’, featuring American singer, H.E.R, made the playlist in 2020; while ‘Iron Man’ by Rema, and ‘Anybody’ by Burna Boy, made the playlist in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *